Want to Shoot “High-Key” Flowers? Find a Window.

Where I live, the Northeastern part of the United States, we are now in late Fall so the temperature is dropping as has all the pretty Fall foliage and we are left with, in my opinion,  pretty “blah” scenery outdoors. At times like these, I begin to switch gears and do more indoor photography. I do not have an indoor studio, nor do I use artificial light much, as I prefer to almost always stick with natural light.

One very easy technique to try during this time of year is to shoot “high-key” flowers using a window. I go to either the grocery store, or local florist, and pick up a few nice looking blooms to use and then find an appropriate window. I choose a window that has indirect light and tape a stem right onto the window. For the “high-key” look, I do this on either a cloudy day or snowy day, so that the background is a fairly bright white. I position the flower so that there are no other distractions in the image, just the clean, white background. Easy as could be. Just be sure, especially if you are using white flowers, to expose so that you still see the edges of the flower against the white background.

Window1

Window3 Window2

Converting such images to Black and White can also be nice.

WindowB&W

If you are missing the warmer temperatures and pretty blooms of Spring and Summer, give this easy technique a try and let me know how it goes.

Happy Shooting.

5 thoughts on “Want to Shoot “High-Key” Flowers? Find a Window.

    1. Hi Jackie,

      I do usually shoot flowers with a macro lens. I have the Sigma 105 mm which I have always been extremely pleased with. It was a great alternative to the Nikon version which was out of my price range. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a comment